In the wake of Supreme Court striking down the single common entrance test for admission to all medical and dental colleges, CBSE on Tuesday announced the next all-India test will be held on May 4, 2014 in select cities.

The test for 2014-15 will be conducted for admission to 15 per cent seats in government medical and dental colleges in the country except in Andhra Pradesh and Jammu and Kashmir.

With this, the CBSE has reverted to its previous system of holding a such an exam for admission to all MBBS and BDS seats after government introduced the National Eligibility-cum- Entrance Exam that was struck down by the Supreme Court.

The government has since sought a review of the verdict on the plea that a single common exam is in the interest of students across the country who will be saved from sitting in multiple exams for medical and dental seats.

The PMT Exam will have the same syllabus as that for the NEET and the test will comprise one paper with 180 objective type questions from subjects such as Physics, Chemistry, Botany and Zoology (45 questions from each subject).

"Subject to the final decision of the Supreme Court, CBSE will conduct an All India PMT Entrance Test for admission to MBBS/BDS courses in 2014-15 for 15 per cent seats in government medical/dental colleges except in Andhra Pradesh and Jammu and Kashmir and also for admission to medical/dental colleges voluntarily participating in the test on Sunday, May 4, 2014 in selected cities across the country and abroad," a CBSE statement said.